Loading Events
This event has passed.

The annual TCWLA/TCWLF Grants and Awards Luncheon will be on April 20, 2023 at the Fairmont Hotel, Third Floor Ballroom, from 11:30 a.m. 1:00 p.m.  Join us as we present TCWLF grants to local non-profits providing legal related assistance to women and children and honor deserving and dedicated Austin women attorneys with the TCWLA attorney awards.

This year’s keynote speaker will be Lise Olson. Lisa is a Houston-based senior reporter and editor at the Texas Observer. Lise has investigated many twisted Texas tales, including crooked judges, an unjust execution, massive environmental disasters, myriad cases of corporate and public corruption, and unsolved serial killings. Her reports in three states over 20 years contributed to the prosecutions of a former congressman and a federal judge, inspired laws and reforms, helped solve cold cases, restored names to unidentified murder victims, and freed dozens of wrongfully-held prisoners. In addition to other acclaimed work, she is the author of Code of Silence: Sexual Misconduct by Federal Judges, the Secret System that Protects Them and the Women who Blew the Whistle.

We will also hear from Avery Travis, KXAN investigative reporter covering the courts and the justice system. After graduating from the University of Texas, Avery began her career in Lubbock where she covered a wide variety of important community issues. As the “self-appointed” city government reporter, Avery gave voice to citizen outrage over land annexation and high utility bills. Avery is thrilled to be back in Austin at KXAN, still fighting for positive change in the State of Texas.




You can purchase a sponsorship or tickets two ways: online (by clicking the above blue purchase button or, if you wish to pay by check, simply email the Foundation Chair Jennifer Hopgood to reserve your seats for this wonderful and important event!

Table Sponsorships:

  • Diamond Premier – $10,000 for 10 attendees, top-tier signage and front-row table
  • Emerald – $7,500 for 10 attendees, prominent signage and preferred table
  • Platinum – $5,000 for 10 attendees (full table)
  • Gold – $2,500 for 8 attendees (partial table)
  • Silver – $1,000 for 4 attendees (partial table)
  • Bronze – $500 for 2 attendees (partial table)
  • For Judges Only – Judicial Star – $200 for 1 attendee


Congratulations to the 2023 TCWLF grant recipients!
($60,000 total awarded this year!)

  1. American Gateways
  2. Asian Family Support Services of Austin
  3. Casa Marianella
  4. Foster Angels
  5. Foster Village of Central Texas
  6. Jane’s Due Process
  7. KAZI, Austin non-profit radio station
  8. Lone Star Justice Alliance
  9. Seedling Foundation
  10. Texas Rio Grande Legal Aid: Texas Foster Youth Justice Project
  11. Volunteer Legal Services of Central Texas
  12. Women’s Storybook Project

Congratulations to the 2023 TCWLA attorney award winners!

  1. Public Interest – Christine Nishimura, Executive Director, Teach for America Austin
  2. Contribution to Minority Community – Hon. Bianca Garcia, Presiding Judge, County Court at Law #3, Travis County
  3. Advancement of Women’s Interests – Hannah Hembree Bell, Hembree Bell Law Firm
  4. Government Service – Jeanette Dela Cruz, former Chief of Staff, Texas Workforce Commission
  5. Pro Bono – Lindsay Gray, Founder/CEO, VECINA
  6. Litigation/Appellate – Katherine Chiarello, Partner, Wittliff Cutter
  7. Corporate/Transactional – Nikelle Meade, Partner, Husch Blackwell
  8. Criminal Justice – Addy Miró, Cogliano & Miró
  9. Firm/Organization/Government Entity – Lloyd Gosselink Rochelle & Townsend
  10. Outstanding Achievement – Beverly Reeves, Reeves & Brightwell



Sponsors, as of April 7, 2023

Diamond Premier 
$10,000 (10 attendees, top-tier signage and front-row table)

Travis County Women Lawyers’ Association

Emerald – $7,500
(10 attendees, prominent signage and preferred table)

Husch Blackwell

Platinum $5,000
(10 attendees – full table)

Katherine Chiarello
Fowler Family Foundation
Hon. Bianca Garcia
Law Office of Dicky Grigg, P.C.
Lloyd Gosselink Rochelle & Townsend

Gold – $2,500
(8 attendees – full table w/ two guests)

Ryan Botkin
Duane Morris
Enoch Kever
Jackson Walker
McGinnis Lochridge
McLean & Howard
Scott Douglass McConnico
Thompson Coe
Weisbart Springer Hayes

Silver – $1,000
(4 attendees)

Alexander Dubose & Jefferson
Austin Bar Association
Bollier Ciccione
Boulette Golden & Marin LLP
Coats Rose
Frost Bank
Hanna & Plaut
Hutcheson Bowers LLLP
Kaplan Law Firm
Jackson Lewis P.C.
Lincoln-Goldfinch Law
Littler Mendelson P.C.
Locke Lord LLP
Nielsen Law Firm
Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe
Osborne, Helman, Scott, Knisely & Stanton, LLP
Reid Collins & Tsai
Velva Price
Velva Price in honor of KAZI (2023 grant recipient)
Ruffner Schoenbaum Murphy Banaszak

Bronze – $500
(2 attendees)

Barron, Adler, Clough & Oddo
Beckstead Terry Ditto PLLC
Culhane Meadows PLLC
Davis & Kaufman PLLC
Falk Family Law
Fitzgerald & Meissner, P.C.
Fitz Byrne
George Brothers Kinkaid & Horton LLP
Graves Dougherty Hearon and Moody
Jennifer Hopgood
HR Legal Search (Kathy Holt Richardson)
Martens, Todd & Leonard
Prospect Point Recruiting (Joelle Schulze)
Ramón Worthington Nicolas & Cantu
Laurie Ratliff LLC
Moody Bank Wealth & Trust
Adrienne Redinger Barclay
Reeves & Brightwell
Slack Davis Sanger
Veritext Legal Solutions

Judicial Stars
($200 sponsorship)

Judge Selena Alvarenga
Justice Thomas Baker
Judge Dayna Blazey
Chief Justice Darlene Byrne
Judge Maria Cantú Hexsel
Judge Karin Crump
Judge Elisabeth Earle
Judge Laurie Eiserloh
Judge Mary Ann Espiritu
Judge Raul Gonzalez
Judge Maya Guerra Gamble
Chief Justice Nathan Hecht
Judge Guy Herman
Judge Nancy Hohengarten (Ret.)
Judge Sylvia Holmes
Judge Dustin Howell
Judge Daniella Deseta Lyttle
Judge Jessica Mangrum
Judge Aurora Martinez Jones
Judge Catherine Mauzy
Judge Amy Clark Meachum
Chief Justice Jeff Rose (Ret.) (Rose Resolution Group)
Judge Edward Smith
Judge Jan Soifer
Judge Kim Williams
Judge Todd Wong

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!